Measure to split California into 3 states qualifies for November ballot

SAN FRANCISCO (KRON) - It's really happening. 

This fall, California voters will decide if the Golden State should be split into three separate states. 

Known as "CAL 3," the proposal pushed by local capital investor Tim Draper has gained the necessary signatures required to get on the November ballot, the Secretary of the State's office confirmed on Tuesday. 

According to the proposal, this will solve issues in the state including failing school systems, high taxes, deteriorating infrastructure, and strained government. 

California governments would be served by three smaller state governments. 

The 3 states are as follows: 

Northern California: This would include the Bay Area and the 31 remaining counties north of Sacramento.

California: This will be considered the new state which includes Los Angeles, Ventura, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey and San Benito counties.

Southern California: San Diego, San Bernardino, Orange, Riverside, Mono, Madera, Inyo, Tulare, Fresno, Kings, Kern and Imperial counties.

What do you think of the proposal?



Bay Area News

Video Center

Trending Stories


Latest News

Stay Connected

  • Download the free KRON4 News App
    Copyright 2018 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.