California’s minimum wage is going up by a buck to $12 an hour for companies with more than 25 employees.
Most Bay Area cities already have higher minimum wages.
On Jan. 1, San Jose, San Mateo, and several other cities will boost their minimum to $15, and in Mountain View, it will increase to $15.65.
This increase will be delayed one year for companies with 25 employees or less.
In 2016, Gov. Jerry Brown signed a law that would gradually increase the state’s minimum wage to $15 an hour by 2022. The law went into effect Jan. 1, 2017.
Schedule for California Minimum Wage rate 2017-2023.
Minimum Wage for Employers with 25 Employees or Less
Minimum Wage for Employers with 26 Employees or More
January 1, 2017
January 1, 2018
January 1, 2019
January 1, 2020
January 1, 2021
January 1, 2022
January 1, 2023
- TRUMP MAKES PUSH FOR BORDER WALL AFTER CALIFORNIA OFFICER KILLED
- HUNT CONTINUES FOR ESCAPED SAN QUENTIN INMATE
- PAPER LICENSE PLATES WILL BE ILLEGAL IN CALIFORNIA STARTING JAN. 1
- VIDEO: ABANDONED DOG TRIES TO JUMP BACK IN CAR
- 24-YEAR-OLD WOMAN KILLED BY SAN JOSE POLICE CHRISTMAS MORNING