SAN FRANCISCO (KRON) — California increased the number of states on its list that restricts state-funded travel due to their anti-LGBTQ legislation, Attorney General Rob Bonta announced Monday.

The new additions to the list include West Virginia, Arkansas, Florida, Montana and North Dakota.

These are the states that already were on the restricted list:

  • Alabama
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas

The travel prohibition applies to state agencies, departments, boards, authorities, and commissions, including with the University of California, the Board of Regents of the University of California, and the California State University, the attorney general’s office said.

There are some exceptions to the law.

The state law has exemptions for some trips, such as travel needed to enforce California law and to honor contracts signed before the states were added to the list. Travel to conferences or out-of-state training are examples of trips that can be blocked.

“Make no mistake: We’re in the midst of an unprecedented wave of bigotry and discrimination in this country – and the State of California is not going to support it,” Bonta said.

Lawmakers in 2016 banned non-essential travel to states with laws that discriminate against lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people. The 12 other states on the list are: Texas, Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Kentucky, North Carolina, Kansas, Mississippi, Tennessee.

It’s unclear what effect California’s travel ban will have. Bonta did not have information about how many state agencies have stopped sending state employees to the states on the list or the financial impact of California’s travel ban on those states.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.