(KTLA) – Sheriff’s deputies in West Hollywood say they’ll begin fining people spotted without a face-covering in public.
The violation carries a $300 price tag for first-time offenders, including a $250 fine and $50 fee, the sheriff’s station said in a tweet.
Deputies said enforcement begins this month, indicating it is effective immediately.
The fine will be issued as an administrative citation, meaning it will not result in a criminal record.
“Our last option was to conduct enforcement by issuing an Administrative Citation, but the risk to Community is to great,” officials wrote.
Local jurisdictions have been given leeway to decide how — or if — they’ll enforce the statewide mask mandate issued June 18. The order allows for fines and other penalties, including possible misdemeanor charges.
Face coverings have also been required in Los Angeles County since May 14.
The orders have largely gone unenforced with punitive measures. The West Hollywood station is the only in the county Sheriff’s Department to institute a citation, and L.A. Police Department Chief Michel Moore previously said he didn’t plan to issue fines.
Some people are exempt from the mask orders, including children aged 2 and under, those who are hard of hearing or need to communicate with those who are, and people who have medical, mental health or developmental disabilities that prevent them from wearing face coverings.
People dining at restaurants and cafes don’t have to wear face coverings while they’re eating, provided that they can keep at least 6 feet away from others, according to state officials.
- Eric Trump says Harris as Biden’s VP doesn’t worry Trump campaign
- Fallen Santa Cruz police officers helped find justice for Tyler Tenorio, investigators say
- California lawmakers propose new tax on rich to boost state revenue during pandemic
- Man arrested following fatal shooting in San Francisco’s SoMa neighborhood
- Texas couple charged after infant son found dead in bucket of tar