Newsom declares state of emergency in several counties after February storms


(KRON) — Gov. Gavin Newsom declared a state of emergency Friday night in eight California counties, including several in the Bay Area. 

The governor’s office said Friday that the emergency proclamation is to assist the communities in the rebuilding process following severe storm conditions earlier this winter.

The counties included in the state of emergency are: Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Mariposa, Napa, Santa Cruz, Solano and Tuolumne. 

The governor’s proclamation allows Caltrans to request assistance from federal emergency relief programs that would go directly to local communities. 

Storms earlier this winter got rid of the drought in California, but brought severe flooding to parts of the Bay Area. 

For live, local news, download the KRONon app. It lets you watch commercial-free the Bay Area’s Local News Station on multiple streaming devices.

Click here to subscribe for a free 7-day trial



Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More News